Beeston to Brazil

Sirens are blaring, and I see a sea of different faces looking at me, Leeds train station is buzzing at at 3pm on a Saturday afternoon. I love this stage of travelling. The bit in between leaving your familiar world behind and venturing off after weeks of organising and planning into the unknown. There’s a bit of me that feels like a foreigner in my own town with my rucksack on my back.

Manchester Airport on a Saturday night however, is not as vibrant.
It’s 18.50 and the place is half empty.
So i’ve done the usual; sprayed 5 dozen perfumes on me, sampled christian dior lip thingys and dropped a pizza tomato on my new linen trousers.
I’m setting out on the second leg of my fellowship travels. This time to Rio and Porto Alegre in Brazil. I am looking at how this country supports and engages their families. Two things in common between the USA and Brazil is that they are both quite decentralised systems.
Anyway, I arrive in Rio at sunrise tomorrow morning in the middle of carnival.
Bye for now.

20140301-191657.jpg

One thought on “Beeston to Brazil

  1. You’re in Rio in Carnival???? Green with envy here. I’d have carried your rucksack if you’d asked!! Have a great time.

Leave a Reply

